3 comments on “Topic 4: Ethics & Social Media

  1. Hello Lingzi, this is an interesting post about the ethics and social media. Thank you for the insight about the paid tweeter. I have never thought about celebrities being paid by companies to help them raise brand awareness. Do you think that it is completely unethical for celebrities to tweet advertisements? What is your stand on this? You have advised about setting policies on social media under the President Obama’s case, is there any example that you can advise them to follow? I do agree with you that inappropriate use of social media will cause more privacy and ethical problems, in your opinion; will you encourage the company to have a standard code of ethics to resolve such issues? In case you are unaware of the standard code of ethics that I am talking about, you might want to refer to this link below for reference.

    Click to access CC_Social%20Media%20Code%20of%20Conduct_FINAL.pdf

    Great job done on your post! See you soon! 🙂

    (P.S. Just wanted to let you know, it’s absolutely fine if you are unable to answer all my questions, I know I have asked quite a bit. It’s just my way of commenting on other people’s blog; do not take it too personally. I hope I’m the one thinking too much here. HAHA. You can comment on mine and ask me questions too. I wish you all the best for the rest of this module! Happy holidays, it’s coming…. :))

    Like

    • Hi, Wen Hui

      Thank you for your comment. 🙂 For celebrities tweet advertisements or paid tweets, like Federal Trade Commission asks any sponsered tweets should add specific hashtag like #spon, #paid etc. I think it’s depends on different people, ethical or not, it is a business model. At very first place, twitter was designed to further real relationship online, trust is build upon our posts. If you are paid to tweet, the motivation should be doubted. For long term, it is still depends on quality of products and may weaken overall value of social media.

      As for Identity thift, I think it is unethical to impersonate others. There is a red flag rule supports prevention policy. I think companis have a standard code of ethics could help, employees should distingush the line between personal and professional. Posting anything related with company information should under company permission. Social media is a relative open platform, employees should concern their opinions could affect company’s reputation and their reputation as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Topic 4: Reflective Summary | zling002

Leave a comment